Anonymous
map-marker San Diego, California

Same BS of other victims-drain clear morphed into thousands/still clogged/water pipes now leak..

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Over priced,3days later,I pad sign sign sign holes cut in wall to find pipe; water pipe now leaking on cabinets y carpet; clean out install-$600 more, phoney air blast(?) waiting for forth truck to power punch to main line black butter
View full review
Anonymous
map-marker Sacramento, California

Want a complete refund.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I believe that Rooter Hero has scammed me the same way they have scammed or attempted to scam many other customers (See https://claremont-courier.com/latest-news/rooter-hero-settles-ordered-to-pay-209k-other-fees-57412/). On December 6, 2021, I called several plumbers because I had sewage backup, Rooter Hero was the first to respond on December 7. Rooter Hero Technician Jim claimed that he could not clear up a third clog in the line with his auger; then a Rooter Hero Field Manager used a CCTV to view the inside of the line and claimed that I had three breaks in the line causing the pipes to misalign, and the repairs would require a 3 hole be cut through my concrete driveway. I asked why and the Field Manager explained that the line did not go directly from the backyard cleanout to the front cleanout; it instead went to the front of the house, crossed to the opposite side of the driveway, then to the front cleanout. I asked why the line goes across the driveway, and the Field Manager responded probably because the builders of your house wanted to work extra hard that day. That absurd response made him seem unknowledgeable and unprofessional; however, I was too overwhelmed with desperation to get my house back in order to give it a second thought. I then suggested could it be because my washing machine is on that side of the driveway, and the Field Manager responded um yeah, that could be it. I then asked why they had to dig through my driveway and he responded Because thats where most of the damage is; however, the contract, which I did not receive until December 14, 2021, contradicts this. The contract states that the access pot hole is toinstall later pipe liner inside of main sewer line. This again made the Field Manager appear untrained, inexperienced, and unprofessional. The Field Manager estimated the cost for repair at $45,000.00. This amount shocked me. Feeling massive pressure from being unable to bathe, use the toilet, etc., I initially agreed. However, after regaining my senses, I said that $45K was way too much, and told them to stop work. They left. That evening, Rooter Hero technician Tommy Angiano called to discuss the price. After less than approximately one minute, and without me uttering hardly one word, Mr. Angiano lowered the quote from $45K to $31K. I responded that was still too much, but that I would decide overnight. By the next day, December 8, other plumbers still had not responded to my call for help. Feeling desperate, I reluctantly (and now regrettably) agreed to $31k. Rooter Hero returned that afternoon and dug up the driveway, and had me use my finger to sign a contract on an IPad. On December 9, 2021, Rooter Hero arrived to clean and reline the pipe. At about noon, I went to the backyard to check progress. The technician operating a machine stated Ok, this one is done. We just need to let it cure overnight. Now we can do the front and walked away, leaving the cleanout open and exposed. Wait I stated, Its going to rain tonight; shouldnt we cover that up? The technician responded Oh Yeah good idea. That response made the technician appear untrained, inexperienced, and unprofessional; however, still desperate to regain use of my facilities, I gave it no further thought. My water was available for use on the next day; but the job was not yet complete. The installation of bullhorn pipes (clean outs) and caps, the backfill, and cement patch for the driveway was not completed until December 22, 2021. Back on December 14, 2021, Mr. Angiano had me pay $7,000 up front; however; when Rooter Hero later provided me with a copy of the contract, it stated the down payment may not exceed $1000 or 10 percent of the contract price, whichever is less. This means Rooter Hero overcharged me the amount allowed for the down payment. Still concerned that I was unable to get a second opinion in a timely manner, a relative provided me with the name of a reliable plumber on December 16, 2021. He agreed to review the contract and pictures of the work in progress. On December 21, the plumber, after consulting with two additional plumbers, advised me that they all agreed that $31K was way too much for this project, and that it should cost less than $19 everything about this seems suspicious those people sound shady . On December 23, after Rooter Hero completed the job, I reviewed the Service Finance Company loan documents and I found the language contradictive and unclear. I then researched Service Finance Company and found many complaints. I then researched Rooter Hero and found several web sites with dozens upon dozens of customer complaints. I called Mr. Angiano regarding the many complaints and told him that I wanted the Service Finance contract cancelled and I would use alternate financing. Mr. Angiano than yelled at me Youd better pay that loan. I told Mr. Angiano about the customer complaints alleging Rooter Hero charged and overpriced customers for work that was subsequently determined to be unnecessary, including digging up a driveway, and asked Is that what you did to me; was that work unnecessary, did you not need to dig up my driveway? Mr. Angiano responded Im just trying to keep the guys busy. That sounded like an admission. I told Mr. Angiano that I wanted the contract to be rewritten to show a cost of less than $19K, as the other plumbers estimated; Mr. Angiano said he would not do that. I advised Mr. Angiano that a cleanout cap they installed in my driveway was not seated properly, it was 1\2 above the driveway surface and caused me to trip on it, and I wanted it fixed. I also asked Mr. Angiano to itemize the costs of the project (list the costs of supplies, tools, wages, etc.). Mr. Angiano said he would itemize the cost for us, but that he would forward our other concerns to the Rooter Hero Regional Manager Pat. The regional Manager did not call until December 28, 2021. I advised Regional Manager Pat that I had requested Rooter Hero to itemize the cost of my contract, and Regional Manager Pat responded that Mr. Angiano would take care of that. I also advised him that the cap on the cleanout was not seated properly causing me to trip on it, and he said someone would fix it. I advised Regional Manager Pat that I had three plumbers determine that the $31K Rooter Hero charged me was too much for the work performed, and should have been less than $19K, and I wanted him to refund me the difference. Pat responded Im not giving you any money. I then referred to the numerous customer complaints I found on the internet, and Pat responded those Yelp reviews are all bogus you cant believe them. All of them I asked; Dozens and dozens; really? Have you seen these complaints? They all say the same thing Rooter Hero charged or attempted to charge thousands of dollars for work that was not necessary, and that different plumbers were hired to complete the job for much less money and less work and Rooter Hero guys are scammers, thieves, crooks, dont call them, rip offs (see lists of websites below). Put yourself in my shoes, what am I supposed to think? I asked. Pat responded My guys are all specialists. I then advised Pat about his technician who walked away from a cleanout to leave it to cure without covering it to protect it from the rain. These are his so called specialists. Pat then responded on a loud voice Well then you should have done your research first. Youre right; I should have I responded, because if I did, I would have never hired you. Pat did volunteer to refund $1000 to me; however, to this day Rooter Hero has failed to provide the itemized costs as I have requested at least six times from Pat, Mr. Angiano, and Customer Representative Branson. I recently learned that Rooter Hero has agreed to an out of court settlement effective January 27, 2022, in the amount of $208,864 in restitution to aggrieved customers, and that their contractors license is on probation for five years. I believe that my clogged line could have been cleared by an honest, ethical, competent plumber with the simple use of a standard auger; and for less than $300. Rooter Hero scammed me for $31,000, and I want my money back, all of it.
View full review

User's recommendation: Google "Rooter Hero Complaints" first.

Gary D Kvi

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker San Bruno, California

Clogged main line

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Absolute nightmare Called them out and needed them to return in 3 weeks Evidently they do not stand behind their work Tech complained he could guarantee it because he was sure that there was a line problem Asked for a different tech and no one showed or called Different company ran snake then put a camera down the line and pipe is perfectly fine Just a bad snake job Called rooter hero the next day to talk to a manager twice 9am and 3pm and never got a call back to discuss their tech attitude and lack of standing behind their work Great business practice
View full review
Loss:
$79

Preferred solution: Let the company propose a solution

User's recommendation: Buyer beware

Anonymous
map-marker Fallbrook, California

A license to steal.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Rooter Hero came out on there $77.00 special drain snake. They were told they would have to snake the through the toilet drain. When they got here, they said it was $385.00 to remove the toilet. I removed it in less than three minutes since it was new a week ago. Then, the tech had to call in a camera guy. He said the sewer pipe was crushed and needed to be replaced. To get to it, a palm tree would have to be removed, dug up and disposed of. He said the sewer pipe was under the tree, I never told him that I installed the sewer lines myself (retired contractor) I know where the lines are.the price to remove the tree, dig up the stump and replace the broken pipe was about $10,000. $1,800 extra to dispose of it. That camera scam was horrible. I snaked it myself. No crushed pipe. Works fine now.
View full review

User's recommendation: Beware. If your not sure, get a second opinion. These guys try to get you committed fast.

Lewis H Aig

Unsatisfied with work and personnel

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
January 2019 Rooter Hero did plumbing in my house. Plumbing works fine; however, they unsafely left plastic on floor (did not secure it), My wife fell over the plastic. As a result, she broke two bones near her hip and had to have surgery. She experienced a stroke in the middle of all this. When they dismissed her from hospital, she spent 63 days in rehabilitation center. Today, nearly two years later, she is bed bound and cannot walk. Also, the personnel dug *** in my bathroom to fix plumbing and was not intending to fix floor back to its original condition. They still have not done so. They told me they do not hire to fix the hole. I explained "you dug the hole, you fill it back up." Yes, they filled the hole but did not return the floor to its original condition. Thus, I am having to hire someone to fix the tile on the floor or do it myself. I am doing it. The concrete was left uneven and horrible. They left concrete pieces and plumbing materials in my yard which I had to clean up. They were messy and unprofessional. It took them approximately two weeks to fix it. The lead man was not here all the time supervising to ensure everything was completed correctly. I called Rooter Hero and was told they had past issues with this same guy.
View full review
Cons:
  • Already explained

Preferred solution: Let the company propose a solution

User's recommendation: Do not use Rooter Hero if you want a professional job.

Chris B Ctv

Poor Customer Service after calling several times to receive service for a plumbing leak

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I had Rooter Hero at my residence back in July 2019 to re-pipe my cold water with Pek piping, new water heater, filtration system, Etc and spent close to $25,000 for the job. Well in June 2020 when I noticed a water leak on the side of my house, I called Rooter Hero right away thinking it might be the re-pipe. They said they would send out the same Tech that completed the re-pipe job on June 5th between 10AM and Noon. Well when he hadnt shown by 1PM, I called Rooter Hero and was told that this Tech was actually off and they mistakenly scheduled him to work but that they would send someone out the following day. Now mind you, I had to take the day off myself in order to wait for this Tech to arrive so I lost wages. So Saturday, another Tech arrived at my residence at 11AM and me merely looked at the area of the leak. He didnt get in the attic, got no tools out, NOTHING. Then told me he would get ahold of the Project Manager and let me know what the next step would be and let me know. I heard nothing by Monday afternoon so I called back in and the Tech that was suppose to come on Friday June 5th came on Monday June 8th at about 4:30PM. He got into the attic and checked the Pek piping connections and a water pressure check. And I was told to keep an eye on the water leak area. It was obvious I had a leak as moisture was coming from the wall. Why the exterior wall was not opened up and checked the first time I called on June 3, 2020 is beyond me. I finally called a competitor out who finally did just that and there was a leak in the hot and cold water pipes to the sink in the master bathroom. It is so frustrating when you spend the kind of money that I did to a company that claims to have great customer service as Rooter Hero does when in this situation clearly did not exhibit that!!! I even called Rooter Hero to voice my displeasure and no one has ever called me back. Very disappointing.
View full review
Loss:
$585
Pros:
  • Polite plumber
Cons:
  • Had a valid pipe leak which was not fixed

Preferred solution: Apology

Catherine V Ihg

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Newark, California

Do not clean crawlspace after putting new pipes...

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
chargers to much money but do not clean crawlspace...
View full review

Preferred solution: Let the company propose a solution

User's recommendation: somone else with more details

James M Lna

Avoid at all costs

I'm appalled by this companies business practices. My 98 year old grandfather was having trouble with a slow kitchen drain. Rooter Hero came out snaked his line came out told him his line was cracked and needed lined. They only told him the price after the job was done. They charged him nearly $9000 dollars to descale and coat about 20' of a 2" line!!! 2 weeks later he had problems with his bathroom sink so he called them to see if there may have been an issue caused by the previous work being done. Now rather than coming out and taking care or checking on the issue they told him it would need the same repair over the phone. Completely disgusted this is how they treat the elderly... I called after finding out about this to see if they would like to make things right and make an adjustment. The response was that he signed a contract and they felt there was no problem with how the job was handled. My grandfather is on a fixed budget and the way wipe out nearly half of his savings for repair of 20' of 2" line is absolutely unbelievable. I will be posting reviews absolutely anywhere possible in hopes of making sure such a thing doesn't happen to anyone else!
View full review
Cons:
  • Over charged the elderly
  • Overbilled for false hours
  • Bs about why he did not remove roots from the sewer line
Reason of review:
Pricing issue

Preferred solution: Let the company propose a solution

Anonymous

Flat rate company. Knowledgeable technicians.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
You pay for what you get. People always want their plumbing fixed but never like the price to have it done right the first time. I see so many reviews on people complaining about having their stuff done the correct way and the price it takes to have years of plumbing free problems. Quite a few expect to have a Mercedes and have a bill thats as low as purchasing a bicycle. Company has competitive rates. Not the lowestand definitely not the highest. Id rarher pay more for the piece of mind especially when it comes to my plumbing.
View full review
Reason of review:
Exactly as described/ advertised
Kitty Zqi

Totally misdiagnosed my plumbing problem

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I left a phone message explaining my frustration with the diagnosis by Jose and his manager Josh. 12-2018. I called rooter hero to diagnose a leak problem in the master bathroom shower area. After doing little research they proposed SMOKE DETECTION for $3250.00 to see what may be leaking near the shower. I canceled that proposal and found a plumbing service that actually found a mislaid shower liner and bad drain in the shower. I finally fixed the problem by spending $2000.00 to relay the shower floor. Rooter hero may clean drains, but they know nothing about finding leaks. I would never call them for anything ever again. What if I spent $3250.00 to find nothing! Rooter Hero is bad business for anyone, especially the bald Josh guy who said he had plenty of experience and knew nothing about fixing the shower drain.
View full review
Cons:
  • Already explained
Reason of review:
Pricing issue
1 comment
Guest

I'd love to meet the person who did your shower floor for only 2000! What kind of warranty were you given? I myself with no license wouldnt even touch the job for less than 3000 especially if having to fix the drain and make the correct tie ins to the walls for a liner.

BETHANY P Pam
map-marker Phoenix, Arizona

Con Artists

These guys are con artists. Our pressure vacuum breaker was leaking, so I contacted Rooter Hero to fix it. Someone came out and quoted us $1019 to replace it. He said the part alone cost $600. A quick Google search revealed that the part could be obtained for less than $100 from Amazon, Home Depot, or many other places. We said no thanks. We had someone from another company come out a replace the part for $100. Rooter Hero plumbing literally quoted us more than 10 times what another company charged, and lied to us about the cost of the part.
View full review
Reason of review:
Liars

Preferred solution: Let the company propose a solution

Jason M Qqj

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Ripoff Artists

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Rooter Hero Plumbing - Ripoff Artists
Rooter Hero Plumbing - Ripoff Artists - Image 2
Rooter Hero Plumbing - Ripoff Artists - Image 3
Rooter Hero Plumbing - Ripoff Artists - Image 4
Updated by user Jul 03, 2018

No direct link to the service. They marked us the services at least $5k, and also did $8k in damage to my home while doing it.

Total charge was $18k - they offered a $5k refund.

Still not settled. Took advantage of my wife & tried to get us to sign ANOTHER $17k...

Original review Jul 02, 2018
There is a trend, and a terrible scam by Ygrene and Rooter - DO NOT use ANY service with Rooter valued at over $100. We started with a backed up line, that turned into a $3000 project, that we could finance, to an $18k project financing through Ygrene. The total will be $36-40,000 over 20 years. However, due to this being a Pace loan, multiple laws were broken - by Ygrene and Rooter. 1 - We decided to look for another contractor when we heard the price. Luis from Rooter lied to us & told us b/c of the Ygrene financing we could not look for another contractor. This was illegal according to the new CA laws, as we have 3 days to cancel & find a new contractor. 2 - Luis attempting to scare my wife into another $17k project - which cost us $6k to do from another company. 3 - We would have been out $34k, which would have totaled $60K+ over the life of the loan 4 - Ygrene has been 100% complicit, as they are providing "Pace" loans, but literally have homeowners sign away any & all Pace consumer rights and protections in their contracts 5 - Ygrene is operating as a Pace program, receiving funding a Pace program, has the ability to operate in cities as a Pace program, but follows none of the laws/policies required of Pace programs. 6 - We had an open complaint about this project since DECEMBER that was ignored. Eventually we met with the head of the SD Energy Dept & City Attorney to explain the situation & find out more about how Ygrene was able to operate in the city with these practices. Eventually we had another (Ygrene recommended) plumbing company look at the work & take pics. The work is not up to code, Rooter left all of their trash under our house, and what's not up to code was done poorly. Ygrene did not respond to our complaint for 5 months until the Energy Dept head sent them the pics. They then tried to claim that the complaint was filed when they received the pics - when the complaint had been open for 5 months by then - they just did NOTHING. 7 - We fought & said the 1st contract was void (it didn't meet Pace policy/law, the hours were falsified, etc). Ygrene then wrote another contract at $13K (our original refund from Rooter for the falsified invoices amount) - however Ygrene still assessed their fees on the $18k amount & not the new project amount! So we haven't signed that contract 8 - Once they had the pics of the work, and inspector comments, Rooter agreed to have a release form written, voiding the cost altogether. We wait 2 months, and ended up receiving the "release form" for a $5k refund. This $5k discount was the original refund we received when we finally had the itemized invoice & saw the hours we were overbilled - and has NOTHING to do with the fact that the entire project needs to be redone because their work isn't up to code! Our new quote to have the work redone is almost $8k - so the refund Rooter is offering doesn't even cover what it will cost to have the project done correctly by a reputable company! 9 - Ygrene, of course, has not followed CA law & provided no fraction of any of the consumer rights that Pace provides - which is part of what the high interest rate you pay is supposed to cover! We've been fighting this for months, and it doesn't seem like it's going to end any time soon, but these companies have no oversight and are scamming homeowners $10,000s at a time, and there seems to be nothing anyone can do about it at this point. BE AWARE - DO NOT sign anything regarding Ygrene and expect to have any Pace benefits. DO NOT use Rooter Hero for any project over $100
View full review
Loss:
$13000
Pros:
  • Lied to many times by lou
Cons:
  • Took 6 weeks to get invoice
  • Overbilled for false hours
  • Work was not done to code
Reason of review:
Bad quality

Preferred solution: Price reduction

Mendall M

I called rooter out to unclog a sink and they went under our mobile home to do an inspection without consulting us and came out and said that all of our sewer and water pipes needed to be replaced,

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
make an inspection and came out and said that all of our sewer and water pipes needed to be replaced or we would have serious problems. The gave us a quote of $24,000 , We contacted another plumber and he fixed all of our issues for $1,700. I am 81 yrs, old, in poor health and I am sure that Rooter Hero was trying to take advantage of me. (shame on them)
View full review
Cons:
  • Price gouging
Reason of review:
Pricing issue
Robert G Vij

Beware

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Dont do it. Over priced for the work involved. Rude Management. Look around they give plumbers a bad name. They taught me a good lesson. Do not trust. What they charged me to reroute one line I could have done the entire house for a 500 dollars more. Gougers, they took advantage
View full review
Loss:
$1060
Cons:
  • Over priced
Reason of review:
Poor customer service

Preferred solution: Price reduction

Robert G Vij

Beware

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Dont do it. Over priced for the work involved. Rude Management. Look around they give plumbers a bad name. They taught me a good lesson. Do not trust. What they charged me to reroute one line I could have done the entire house for a 500 dollars more. Gougers, they took advantage
View full review
Loss:
$1060
Cons:
  • Over priced
Reason of review:
Pricing issue

Preferred solution: Price reduction

Anonymous
map-marker Surprise, Arizona

Plumbing scam

I called them to open a clogged pipe in the kitchen sink. they wanted to charge me $24,000, saying that all sewer and water pipes under our double wide mobile home needed to be replaced. I had another company inspect under our home and they said that all that we needed was significantly less repairs and bid $1700. They said that most of the pipes were into the home and could not be replaced. I am 81 yrs. of age and very ill. SHAME on ROOTER HERO for taking advantage of the aged and ill people, M. E. Myer
View full review

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article